skip navigation

2018-19 Marks The 20th Season Of Oakland Hockey

06/21/2018, 11:00am EDT
By Corey Hagood

This season, which begins on Friday, September 28th, marks 20 seasons of Oakland ACHA Hockey. The program started as an ACHA DII team in the 1999 season and in the previous 19 seasons, Oakland has won two ACHA DII National Championship, an ACHA DI National Championship, a GLCHL regular season and a GLCHL Playoff Championship. The program has a record of 394-248-43 overall and a record of 231-191-28 in ACHA DI.

Two Oakland players have been inducted into the ACHA Hall of Fame; forward Will McMahon in 2010 and forward Brent Cooper in 2015.

Nick Field, takes the helm of the Golden Grizzlies as the new head coach to start the 20th season of OU Hockey.

OU Hockey Coaching Records By Wins
Coach Years Wins Losses OT/SOL Games Winning Percentage Notes
Jeremy Bachusz 09-13  96 59


168  57%

2011 GLCHL Playoff Championship,

2012 GLCHL Regular Season Championship

2012 ACHA DI National Championship Game Appearance

Sean Hogan 05-09 88 50 7 145  61%

First OU ACHA DI Coach

OU Moved to ACHA DI in 06-07 Season

First Coach to Win ACHA DII Championship and then an ACHA DI Championship in back-to-back years

2006 ACHA DII National Championship

2007 ACHA DI National Championship


Craig Furstenau 02-05 79 18 8 105  57%

2004 ACHA DII National Championship

2005 ACHA DII National Championship Game Appearance

Rick Kaminski coached part of 02-03 season

Anthony Jalaba 99-02 54 42 6 102 53% First Coach In OU Hockey History
Gordie Schaeffler 13-16 52 55 5 112  46% Longest Serving coach (assistant/head coach) in program history served as an assistant before being named head coach
Colin Ronayne 16-18 25 39 4 68 37% OU Captain in 2010-11 season


The program has also had several players represent the United States in the World University Games:

Defenseman Jarrett Samp represented Team USA in Harbin, China in 2009.

Defenseman Jacob DeSano and forward Kevin Kranker represented Team USA in Erzurum, Turkey in 2011.

Forward Billy Balent represented Team USA in Italy in 2013 Trentino, Italy, Named to the team in Granada, Spain in 2015.


The program has also had several players play pro hockey after Oakland:

Dan Oleksy, Port Huron Flags (UHL) 2006

Will McMahon, Quad City Mallards (UHL) 2007

Steve Piccoli, Detroit Dragons (AAHA) 2008

Tim Michaels, Lapeer Loggers (AAHA) 2008

B.J. Belliotti, Detroit Hitmen (AAHL) 2009

Mike Monfredo, Quad City Mallards (CHL) 2012

Colin Ronayne , Brooklyn Aviators (FHL) 2012

Todd Orlando, Wheeling Nailers (ECHL) 2013, (New York Rangers camp 2010 ) & (Philadelphia Flyers Tryout 2013)

Dustin Hopfner, Evansville Icemen (ECHL) 2013

Tommy Kilgore St. Clair Shores Fighting Saints (FHL) 2016, Port Huron Prowlers (FHL) (2017) Carolina Thunderbirds (FHL) 2018

Mike Baker St. Clair Shores Fighting Saints (FHL) 2016, Port Huron Prowlers (FHL) (2017, 2018)

Ryan Rotondi St. Clair Shores Fighting Saints (FHL) (2017) Carolina Thunderbirds and Watertown Wolves (FHL) (2018) (Won FHL Championship with Watertown in 2018)

James Odom St. Clair Shores Fighting Saints (FHL) (2017)

Nick Rogers St. Clair Shores Fighting Saints (FHL) (2017) North Shore Knights (FHL) 2018 Cornwall Nationals (FHL) 2018

OU Hockey History

More Headlines


Tag(s): Home  Oakland